A Word About The “Been”…

 

As most of you have probably noticed, my blog is titled “Ballybeen’s Blog”.  

Ballybeen (pronounced “b-alley-bean”) is the name of the public housing estate in which I live.  Public housing estates are most easily defined as government subsidized housing.  They are the rough equivalent of the “projects” in the States.  That being said, most, if not all, are much nicer than their American counterparts.  

The estates in Northern Ireland are significant because of the cultural role they have played in the conflict here.  They are a place where one can see, most clearly, the deep divisions that still exist in Belfast and the rest of Northern Ireland. Each estate can be associated with either the Protestant or Catholic side of the conflict.  Clear visual clues throughout the different estates make it obvious which group the residents belong to.  

Ballybeen is a Protestant, or Loyalist, estate.  For more information on the history of Ballybeen, go here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballybeen.  

Below are some pictures of the estate.

 

This sign stands at one of the entrances.

 

This sign, on one of the apartment buildings, makes it very clear what type of estate Ballybeen is.

 

Davarr Avenue! My house is the third one from the left, behind the flag pole.

 

A close-up of the house.

 

Red, white, and blue, the colors of the Union Jack, are painted on light posts and street curbs, making it clear Ballybeen is Protestant.

 

Union Jacks are flown around different parts of Ballybeen.

 

More red, white, and blue.

 

A red, white, and blue street-curb.

 

Red, white, and blue pennants.

 

The field in front of my house.

 

Most estates have a memorial similar to this one dedicated to people who have lost their lives during "The Troubles".

 

A poem at the memorial.

 

An engraving at the memorial.

 

Bird's eye view.

 

I hope this has given everyone a better understanding of the cultural context in which I live. Thanks for letting me share Ballybeen (or, just the “Been” as my flatmate, Madeline, and I affectionately call it 🙂 ) with you!

One thought on “A Word About The “Been”…

  1. Amy, I really enjoyed your recent contributions to your blog. The bowling sounds like a combination of 10 pin and curling in a way: good for you and what a great involvement! Funny how we end up really liking things that we previously felt contrary to…I’m originally from Ohio and we rarely drank sweet tea- still don’t, but my mom ALWAYS drank hot tea though she didn’t share the snack side of it. Loved seeing the photos of your flat and the history of your place. Your Mom told me you weren’t allowed to celebrate St. Paddy’s day nor were you allowed to bring green or red clothing. I still would like to learn more about the controversy between Northern and Southern Ireland which I will attempt to do so on my own.

    will be writing you soon. Hey, you are a very gifted writer! Your letter to the Session/church was very well written! I was so personally pleased that out congregation responded so well to the special offering for your year’s ministry.

    grace and peace.

    sue johnson

Leave a comment